Australia Day Honours 2014

SFNSW congratulates two of our Executive Managers
and one of our service Board Members on the recognition
of their services to Mental Health and the general community
in the 2014 Australia Day Honours List

Sue-Sacker-OAM-2014      Bill-Gye-OAM-2014      Narelle-Kennedy-AM-2014
     Sue Sacker OAM                Bill Gye OAM             Narelle Kennedy AM

Our Acting CEO Sue Sacker was awarded the Order of Australia. Some may not know but Sue has been involved in quite a number of things beyond the Fellowship, and has been active in numerous campaigns over the years.  She has been very active!  A very deserved recognition for years of commitment.

Bill Gye, General Manager of our Recovery Services,  also was awarded the Order of Australia for his work with the Fellowship, Ostara, Clubhouses and other community activities. Another very deserving award.

And to complete the trifecta, Narelle Kennedy who is on the Board of our Sunflower Services Ltd was awarded an AM.


Ms Susan (Sue) SACKER OAM
For service to people with a mental illness, to local government, and to the community of Manly.

  • Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Schizophrenia Fellowship of New South Wales, since 2006; employee,
    since 2000;
  • Chair, Steering Committee, Mental Health Sports Network, since 2011; led development of the
    'New Moves' healthy lifestyle program.
  • Treasurer, Mental Health Coordinating Council, since 2011; Board Member, since 2009.
  • Involved in establishing, Sunflower House, Wagga Wagga, since 2003.
  • Involved in establishing the Pioneer Clubhouse, Manly, 1994;
  • Chair, Management Committee, 1994-2000.
  • Chair, Manly Warringah Pittwater Mental Health Task Force, in the 1990s. 
  • Mayor, Manly Council, 1995-1999 (first popularly-elected Mayor of Manly);
  • Councillor,  1991-2003;
  • Chair, Heritage Committee, for 12 years.
  • Chair and Founding Member, Friends of Quarantine Station, Manly, since 1999.
  • Member, Residents and Friends of Manly, 1985-2000.
  • Chair, Manly Neighbourhood Centre, in the 1990s.
  • Board Member, NSW National Trust, 2000-2002.
  • Committee Member, Manly Friends of Oecusse, since 2009. 
  • Awards/recognition include: Centenary Medal, 2001.

Mr William Rawson GYE OAM
For service to the community of Scotland Island.

  • President, Scotland Island Residents Association, 1992-1996 and 2007-2002; Vice-President, since 2012; Committee Member, 1995-2007.
  • Member, Scotland Island Rural Fire Brigade, for many years. 
  • General Manager, Recovery Services, Schizophrenia Fellowship of New South Wales, since 2006.
  • Director, Pioneer Club House, 2003-2006.
  • President, Ostara Board, 2009-2011; Board Member, since 2005.
  • Current Member, Steering Committee, Mental Health Sports Network.
  • Chief Executive Officer, Options Community Enterprise, 1990-2003.

Ms Narelle Anne KENNEDY AM
For significant service to business in Australia through a range of policy development and advisory roles.

  • Managing Director, The Kennedy Company, since 2012.
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Technology Sydney Business School, since 2012;
  • Advisory Board Member, Centre for Management and Organisation Studies. 
  • Founder/Chief Executive Officer, Australian Business Foundation, 1996-2012. 
  • Director, Australian Business Ltd (now known as the NSW Business Chamber), 1989-1996.
  • Various Director roles at Australian Business Ltd and its predecessor body, Chamber of Manufacturers


  • Board Member, Sunflower Services Ltd (Schizophrenia Fellowship of NSW)
  • Divisional Director, NSW Department of Consumer Affairs, 1985-1989. 
  • Committee Member, Regional Development Australia - Sydney, since 2012.
  • Council Member, Chief Executive Women (CEW), 2003-2009; Chairman, Representation and Strategy Committee, 2003-2005; Member, Marketing and Communication Committee,  2009-2011; contributed to the development of the CEW Leaders Program.
  • Panel Member, Review of the National Innovation System (Cutler Review), 2008
  • Member. Australian delegation, IBM Global Leaders Forum, St Petersburg, Russia, 2007.
  • Founding Member, Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals in Business.
  • Member, Institute of Public Administration Australia.
  • Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors; Member, since 1992. 
  • Awards/recognition include: Centenary Medal, 2001.